The Conference will be held at the Ioffe Institute, St. Petersburg, Russia.

Ioffe Institute

The history of Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute begins in 1918 when the State X-ray and Radiological Institute (GRRI) was organized by the initiative of professors Abram Ioffe and Mikhail Nemenov. Prof. Ioffe was elected the first director of GRRI and simultaneously headed the department of Physics and Technology which was a part of GRRI. In 1921, the department became an independent institute. Prof. Ioffe was director of the institute until 1950. In May 1939, the Institute became part of the USSR Academy of Sciences. In 1960, the name of Prof. Ioffe appears in the name of the Institute.

The Institute is the cradle of Soviet physics. Future Nobel laureates N.N. Semenov, L.D. Landau, P.L. Kapitsa, and also  outstanding scientists A.P. Alexandrov, E.F. Gross, J.B. Zel'dovich, I.V. Kurchatov, I.E. Tamm, Y.I. Frankel participated in the scientific activity at the Ioffe Institute.

The Nobel Prize was awarded for the works carried out at Ioffe Institute to Academician N.N. Semenov(1956, Nobel Prize in Chemistry) and Academician Zhores Alferov (2000, Nobel Prize in Physics).

More information about Ioffe Institute can be found on the website.